Future-proofing Inflammatory Bowel Disease Diagnosis & Clinical Trials

Date: 23 June 2020

Time: 9am PST | 12pm EST | 5pm BST

Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) encompasses a cluster of disorders that cause chronic inflammation of the gastrointestinal tract. Crohn’s Disease (CD) and Ulcerative Colitis (UC) are the most common forms of this prototypically complex disorder that presents multiple diagnostic and therapeutic challenges. The advent of machine learning, big data, and artificial intelligence has enabled modeling of huge amounts of clinical trial data to enhance development of novel biomarkers and quantitative histopathologic image processing techniques that may, in turn, improve delivery of targeted treatments, monitoring of disease progression, and detection of meaningful clinical outcomes. Pragmatic trial designs focused on effectiveness, rather than traditional trial designs focused on efficacy, are emerging in the deliberations of regulatory bodies as sponsors push for recognition of the value of new investigative tools and approaches.

In this webinar, experts from Perspectum, CATO SMS, and ProPath will review past and current complexities of IBD clinical trials, and will explore how currently available, cutting edge solutions can change the regulatory landscape and future-proof IBD investigations in the not-too-distant future.

Key Topics:

• Past and present challenges in IBD clinical trials

• Present and future aspects of imaging and histopathologic diagnosis in IBD trials

• Current traditional IBD trial designs and future pragmatic IBD trial designs

• Evolution of FDA expectations regarding applications of machine learning, big data, and AI in IBD product development

Speakers: